Congratulations Jill Marshall on receiving the 2018 Luna B. Leopold Young Scientist Award

06 Nov 2018 - Marshall Receives 2018 Luna B. Leopold Young Scientist Award

CUAHSI Instrumentation Discovery Travel Grants

23 Aug 2018 - CUAHSI is accepting proposals for the Instrumentation Discovery Travel Grant program (IDTG). Application deadline is Septemeber 30, 2018.

Call for proposals: Research Coordination Networks (RCNs) Driving Convergent CZ Science

12 Jul 2018 - NSF Dear Colleague Letter: Research Coordination Networks (RCNs) for Driving Convergent Science in the Critical Zone


Make Our Planet Great Again: CZO National Office Director awarded French grant

28 Dec 2017 - Lou Derry (Cornell) is one of 13 U.S. scientists to receive a grant from French President Emmanuel Macron's "Make Our Planet Great Again" initiative.

Water Resources Research Special Collection: Concentration-discharge relations in the critical zone

30 Oct 2017 - Water Resources Research published a new special collection in September 2017 featuring concentration-discharge research from multiple CZOs.

CUAHSI Instrumentation Discovery Travel Grant program

31 Jul 2017 - CUAHSI is now accepting proposals for the Instrumentation Discovery Travel Grant program until September 30, 2017.

Carol Baird Graduate Student Award for Field Research — Apply by Sept. 30, 2017

21 Jul 2017 - New award announced for graduate students planning to conduct field research in the Berkeley reserves & field stations in 2018.

CZO SAVI Summer Interns Program 2017

17 Jan 2017 - Applications are being accepted for 2017 CZO SAVI Summer Interns until March 24.


CZOs at AGU 2016

22 Nov 2016 - CZOs at AGU 2016: Agenda and award recipients

Critical Zone Q&A with researcher Adrian Harpold

19 Oct 2016 - University of Nevada Reno's Adrian Harpold reflects on his past and present time researching at Critical Zone Observatories.

Harman Receives 2016 Early Career Hydrologic Science Award

19 Oct 2016 - Ciaran Harman will receive the 2016 Early Career Hydrologic Science Award at the 2016 AGU Fall Meeting, to be held 12–16 December in San Francisco.

CZNews: Summer 2016

24 Jul 2016 - CZO Newsletter CZNews: Summer 2016

Susan Brantley has been awarded the 2016 Wollaston Medal

11 Jun 2016 - We are proud to announce that Dr. Susan Brantley, Lead-PI of the Shale Hills CZO has been awarded the 2016 Wollaston Medal.

CZOs at AGU 2015

14 Jan 2016 - CZOs at AGU 2015: Award recipients and agenda


Proposals to the USGS Powell Center due Jan. 31, 2016

30 Nov 2015 - Call for proposals by John Wesley Powell Center. Deadline January 31, 2016


Aufdenkampe honored for outstanding service to water sciences community

30 Jul 2014 - Anthony Aufdenkampe, Ph.D., was recognized for his national leadership and community building for the Critical Zone Observatory network.


Post-doctoral researcher Adrian Harpold funded to accomplish cross-CZO science

11 Jan 2013 - Harpold awarded an NSF Earth Sciences Postdoctoral Fellowship for a research and education program that spans 3 western Critical Zone Observatories

Post-doctoral researcher Diana Karwan funded to accomplish cross-CZO science

11 Jan 2013 - Karwan awarded an NSF EAR Postdoctoral Fellowship to work with Susquehanna Shale Hills and Christina River Basin Critical Zone Observatories


CZO PhD Candidate Ashlee Dere wins award at Goldschmidt 2012

27 Aug 2012 - It is with great pleasure we announce that Ashlee Dere, PhD Candidate Geosciences, has been awarded Winner of the poster and oral presentation...

Collaborating Undergrad Awarded Society of Exploration Geophysicists Scholarship

04 Jun 2012 - Derek Lichtner, undergraduate at Temple University, has recently been awarded the David C. Bartel Scholarship from SEG. Lichtner has participated in...

Explore Further


Explore Further